Archive for the ‘Security’ Category
Monday, March 19th, 2007 |
E-gold users beware of a fake PHISHING e-mail recently circulating.
The e-mail attemptes to scare you into thinking your e-gold account was deactivated and gives you a link to correct the issue. This is entirely false, e-gold has NOT deactivated ANYONE’S ACCOUNT. Go ahead and delete the e-mail, or better yet, forward it to the US-CERT and then delete it. For more information about e-gold, read my e-gold tutorial.
(more…)
Posted in Payment Processors, Security | No Comments »
Wednesday, June 21st, 2006 |
Beware of e-mails allegedly from e-gold.com! I just received this e-mail, which includes a link to a fake e-gold website.
From: accounts@e-gold.com
We are contacting you to remind you that on 06.20.06 our Account Review Team identified some unusual activity in your account. In accordance with e-gold??s User Agreement and to ensure that your account has not been compromised, access to your account was limited. Your account access will remain limited until this issue has been resolved please log in your account or click on the link bellow:
Click here to activate your account
As always, be sure to take all e-mails very seriously, as your security can be compromised simply by clicking a link.
For more on protecting yourself online, read more about security here or at e-gold’s security page
Posted in Payment Processors, Security | 1 Comment »
Wednesday, April 12th, 2006 |
Two popular auto surf programs, including AlienTrust and ExtraCash-Flow, have recently had problems with hackers injecting the websites with wrong e-gold account numbers. Please be aware of this when depositing at any auto surfs or HYIPs at this time - there’s no clear way to tell if any other programs are affected until after you’ve lost your money.
To prevent your money being taken by a hacker in this way, find the program’s e-gold account number posted on their website and manually paste it into your e-gold’s “Spend” page. Avoid using the automatic e-gold payment link just in case it has been hacked. If you are redepositing, check your e-gold “Transaction History” to see the program’s old e-gold account and verify that it’s still the same.
Posted in Payment Processors, Security | No Comments »
Sunday, April 9th, 2006 |
e-gold users beware! There is a trojan in circulation that is allowing a hacker to disable your e-gold security settings and steal your money.
(more…)
Posted in Payment Processors, Security | No Comments »
Thursday, March 30th, 2006 |
HYIPDaily posted a great story on a new HYIP phishing scam that has been introduced to the industry.
The phishing HYIP will instruct you to change your e-gold account security settings to allow automated access to your account from any IP address. Traditionally, e-gold will remember your “home” and “work” IP addresses and only allow those IPs to access the account. Next, a spoofed deposit page will allow the scammer/hacker to aquire your e-gold ID and password. Because of the authorized access from any IP address, the hacker now has complete access to your account.
Two simple precautions you can take to prevent this from happening to you:
1. Always login to your account by manually typing the e-gold.com domain name, and always send e-gold to the HYIP/auto surf through the “Spend” form
2. Never make changes to your security settings just because an HYIP instructs you to do so.
For more on e-gold account security, read my e-gold tutorial or e-gold’s security page.
Posted in HYIP, Payment Processors, Security | No Comments »
Sunday, March 12th, 2006 |
Just received this fake e-mail from “E-gold Security”:
Dear E-gold user!
We are sorry to inform you that our automated system Fraud Block got noticed the fraud activity on your account in Egold. The system scans all the accounts to find out any suspicious transaction. That’s why after finding some suspicion transaction account getting blocked for 3 days.
You can do it right now yourself using the address given below for deleting your account from Suspicious list.:
https://www.e-gold.com/fraudblock/security/login.html
If you aren’t logged to your account in 3 days it will be blocked for further verification.
Your sincerely,
E-gold Security and Fraud Department.
Beware that if you receive a similar e-mail, it is a phishing scam! The URL goes to a hacker’s website NOT e-gold.com - using your mistake to steal your password or infect your computer with a trojan horse.
The e-mail address and name are spoofed, but exactly the same as a legitimate e-mail from e-gold. So could I tell it was a phishing scam? Hover your mouse over the URL and you can see where it actually points, this e-mail had the link going to a site with a similar name to www.e-gold.com (I won’t post the original for security).
I suggest quickly reading over e-gold’s “Security Recommendations” page to get some more information.
Posted in General News, Payment Processors, Security | No Comments »
Sunday, March 5th, 2006 |
…here is a video made by the hacker showing undeniable proof that [StudioPay] was indeed hacked and that they do have personal information from over 350,000 members of [Studiotraffic]. There are black bars in the video so as to prevent personal info of members being leaked out.
A blogger who spooked TalkGold users with his impersonation of John Horan, the administrator and owner of Studiotraffic, has created a blog with some shocking news included. Among the eye-opening articles is a video showing the world that Studiopay, Studiotraffic’s payment processor, was indeed hacked. Although the legitimacy of the video and the arguments of the author are unknown, he/she presents some interesting arguments against Studiotraffic and its owner.
Posted in General News, Auto Surf, Security | No Comments »